If you're a Missouri driver, it's important to be aware of the state's texting and driving laws. Texting while driving is against the law in Missouri, and can result in fines and other penalties. In this blog post, we will discuss an overview of Missouri's texting and driving laws, as well as the consequences of breaking them.
The Laws Are Meant to Keep You Safe
Texting while driving is against the law in Missouri. The state's texting and driving laws are designed to help keep drivers safe on the road. If you are caught texting and driving, you may be subject to fines and other penalties.
Consequences of Texting and Driving in Missouri
If you are caught texting and driving in Missouri, you may be subject to a fine of up to $200. You may also have your driver's license suspended for up to 30 days. In addition, you may be required to complete a defensive driving course.
In 2014, more than 17,000 crashes in Missouri were caused by distracted driving. Don't become a statistic - pay attention to signs of distracted driving while you’re out on the road.
Exceptions to the Rules
Missouri drivers may only lawfully use a phone while driving if it is used to do one of the following:
- Report illegal activity.
- Summon medical or other emergency help.
- Prevent injury to a person or property.
- Provide information to a transit or for-hire operator and their dispatcher, in which case the device is permanently implemented in the vehicle.
We're Here to Help
At Henry & Williams, P.C., we understand the complexities of Missouri's texting and driving laws. If you have been hurt in a crash as a result of a distracted driver, we can help. We will review your case and work to get the best possible outcome for you. Reach out to us today for a free consultation.
Contact the experienced team at Henry & Williams, P.C. by calling (800) 526-1949. You can also fill out the online contact form and someone from our team will reach out to you right away.